Self-nominations for Global Gaming Awards closing soon

By Gareth Bracken
The self-nominations window for the Global Gaming Awards 2016 is closing next week.

Entries are being accepted up until Monday 29th February at

Organisations or executives can either nominate their own firm, themselves as an individual, or a colleague, for achievements over the previous 12 months.

Now in their third year, the Awards will once again consist of 12 industry-wide categories, recognising and rewarding innovation and achievement across both the digital and land-based gaming sectors.

The destination of each award is decided by a panel of 50 judges made up of esteemed industry executives from a range of sectors and geographies.

Judges vote for their winner and runner-up in each category based on a shortlist compiled by an official Nominations Panel alongside the in-house editorial team at Gambling Insider.

A standout new judge for 2016 is Playtech CEO Mor Weizer.

Weizer has been chief executive at the provider since May 2007, prior to which he was CEO of one of the firm's subsidiaries, Techplay Marketing Ltd, where he oversaw the group’s licensee relationship management, product management for new licensees and the group’s marketing activities.

Before joining Playtech, Weizer worked for Oracle for over four years, initially as a development consultant and then as a product manager,

The Nominations Panel is also taking shape and features a selection of new names for 2016, including Red Square Gaming president Sarah Jones, Square in the Air business director Robin Hutchinson and gambling consultant Steve Donoughue.

There are also some familiar faces from last year's Panel, including Alex Pratt of iGaming Business, Paul Speirs-Hernandez of Steinbeck Communications, Gaming Capital Management's Akiyoshi Tsuruoka, and Victor Rocha of

As ever, winners will be presented with their award during a prestigious Las Vegas presentation ceremony, attended by some of the biggest names in gaming.

NYX Gaming Group has been confirmed as the Lead Partner of the 2016 event.

The provider has supported the Awards for the past two years and is extending that backing into 2016.

The Global Gaming Awards are powered by Gambling Insider and presented to the industry in association with G2E Vegas.

The 2015 Global Gaming Awards were presented at a high-profile ceremony in the Titian Ballroom of the Venetian Palazzo Congress Center during G2E Vegas.

Big winners included operator MGM Resorts International, which picked up three awards, as well as providers Scientific Games, IGT and Microgaming, who collected two each.

For more information on the Global Gaming Awards visit

Share This Post


More News

According to the Philippine Amusement and Gaming Corp, the casino industry in the Philippines accumulated PHP15.95bn ($331.5m) in gross gaming revenue for Q3, a 603% rise from the previous quarter....

On 11 August 2020, the President of Ukraine signed into law the State Regulation of the Activities Related to the Organisation and Conduct of Gambling Games. Here, Andrey Astapov, managing partner...